Motor City Radio Club - W8MRM

Club News

Post your news and and links here.  This is a great way of keeping people up to date on the latest happening in the club.

  • 10/12/2018 21:32 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    The ballots have been counted and I'm pleased to share with you the new board of the MCRC for 2018-2019.

     President:  Don Novak - K8THU
     Vice-President:  Rick Hardy - KE8BPZ
     Treasurer:  Dale Poblenz - WA8FRD
     Secretary:  Denise Keeler - KC8HDX

  • 10/09/2018 17:34 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    Just a reminder to everyone who checks into the Tuesday night information net. The WY8DOT repeater has been removed from its normal location and is now set up in a temporary location. Due to the current location and height of the antenna; you will more than likely have to turn up your power or check in from something more powerful than an HT with a rubber ducky antenna. 

    Frequency and PL settings are all still the same. 147.24 + PL 100

    You will also notice that there is no courtesy tone at the end of a transmission.  There is a brief squelch burst that follows when someone unkeys from the repeater. 

    As there is also no digital voice recorder (DVR) on the temporary repeater; KD8HFX will be monitoring the repeater tonight, starting at 2000. If you wish to get a signal report give him a call. 


    PS - ECHO LINK is still up OR Members may also want to join us on the MCRC IRC chatroom

  • 10/02/2018 21:03 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    Our magnetic car signs are in. We have 24 of them. They are going to be sold for $25 each or 2 for $40. KD8HFX will have them at the general membership meeting in October.

    Check out the Page 9 of the September Spark Gap for a picture of the magnetic sign.

  • 09/04/2018 21:06 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    Sign the petition here

    NIST station WWV and sister stations are among the oldest radio stations in the United States, having been in continuous operation since May 1920. The station has transmitted the official US Time for nearly 100 years and is an instrumental part in the telecommunications field, ranging from broadcasting to scientific research and education. Additionally, these stations transmit marine storm warnings from the National Weather Service, GPS satellite health reports, and specific information concerning current solar activity, and radio propagation conditions. These broadcasts are an essential resource to the worldwide communications industry. This petition requests continued funding of these stations be maintained into the 21st century and beyond to ensure future operations.

  • 08/17/2018 14:04 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    The MCRC Birthday Special Event Station is going to be an exciting way of celebrating the clubs 86th birthday. 

    Rick KE8BPZ has been kind enough to host club members at his QTH for the event. If you are interested in operating the W8MRM Special Event Station please register with this link.

  • 08/17/2018 11:24 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    We have a new list of equipment for sale in the members swap section of the website. 

    Check it out. Items for Sale

  • 08/14/2018 21:20 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    FCC posts revised Part 95 rules to the Federal Register

  • 06/12/2018 21:20 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    There is a great article in the Island Beacon about Field Day.

  • 05/21/2018 11:02 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    Signup is now available for operating times for both the experimental and contesting stations. Use the links below to reserve you spot. Please remember that schedules are not final until Field Day. Your selections may change. 

    Also, Be sure to be respectful of other members and leave room for others to sign up as well. 

    Contesting Station Operations

    Contesting Station Logging

    Experimental Station Operations

    Experimental Station Logging

    Friday Night Setup & Steaks

    Please let us know if you are planning on helping with the Friday night setup of the tents and antennas. 

    Field Day Signup

  • 05/08/2018 19:51 | Jim Baksa (Administrator)

    Last Sunday was a beautiful day to be outside!!! Ten volunteers from the MCRC got up extra early on Sunday to provide communications support to the annual Metro Grand Spring Tour bike ride. 

    The board would like to thank the club members who gave up their Sunday to volunteer for this great event. 

    Dale - WA8FRD - Organizer
    Jim - KD8HFX - Net Control
    Stan - K8SB - On course station
    Ruth - WB8AFO - On course station
    Ralph - KA8KGQ - On course station
    Don - K8THU - On course station
    Woody - N8MWQ - On course station
    Bob - K8HV - On course station
    Larry - KE8HCD - On course station
    Nick - KD8SJM- On course station

    The event coordinator was very happy to have us there and has invited us to join them again next year to aid in their event. 

    Thank you to the volunteers.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software